Print this Post

Capps Returns to SAS, Victory Lane

Capps Returns to SAS, Victory Lane

By Mark Chisum

2015 Modified Champion David Capps made a triumphant return to South Alabama Speedway Saturday night, winning the 25-lap Modified Feature. Capps suffered a blown engine in his last race on May 21, but came back in winning form. Capps started on the pole and led every lap, holding off a persistent Heath Mills to take the win. Mills stayed glued to Capps’ bumper the entire race, but couldn’t grab the lead away from Capps. Jeremy Mack placed third with Rick McCarson fourth and Ron Roeting fifth.

The Super Stock Feature was decided in the tech area, with Cameron Henderson awarded the win. Corbitt Moseley grabbed the lead on lap one and led until the caution flew on lap 22. The caution was fro Moseley who had suffered a flat right rear tire. Bryan Moseley took over the lead and led the field to the checkered flag. Following Moseley was Henderson, Darrell Cawley, Jr., Corbitt Moseley, and Jeremy Burchfield. However, in post race inspection, Bryan Mosley was disqualified for having illegal rocker arms, and Cawley was disqualified for have a rev limiter, allowing his engine to turn higher rpm’s than the rules allow. Their “dq’s’ gave the win to Henderson, moved Corbitt Moseley to second, Burchfield to third, and moved Ricky Harrelson and Tim Peters into the top five.

Gary Davis led flag to flag to win the Street Stock feature. Davis took the lead from the start and built a comfortable lead over the field. Jake Daniels worked his way to second and cut into Davis’ lead, but couldn’t run the leader down. Billy Maxie was third, followed by Dwayne Maloy and Dean Shaw.

Charles Gardner picked up his third straight Roadrunner Feature win. John Singletary led the first three laps before Gardner worked his way into the lead. Jason Kendrick moved into second on lap 23 of the 35-lap feature. Kendrick erased most of Gardner’s lead, but it was Gardner leading Kendrick to the checkers. Singletary was third with Peters fourth, and Danny Monaghan fifth.

Joseph Chandler won his fifth consecutive Coyote Feature. Tim Richardson was able to hold Chandler off for the first 16 laps of the race, but Chandler used lapped traffic to grab the lead. Once out front, Chandler was able to ease away a bit from Richardson to take the win. Hunter Worley was third, followed by Jonathan Johnson and Anthony Johnson.

Jack Whittle took the lead on lap 20 to take the CupLite Feature win. Adam Salter took the lead on the first lap and ran off from the field. The only thing that could erase his lead was a caution, which came on lap 16. Back on Salter’s bumper, Whittle had a chance. Salter was able to hold off the multi-time champion for four laps, but Whittle was able to get inside of Salter to take the lead on lap 20. Whittle led the final six laps to take the win. Salter was second, followed by Charlie Hercus, Corey Tillman, and Keith Mack.

Darryll Rudd overcame a restart penalty to win the Mini Sportsman Feature. Kim Pearson grabbed the early lead and led until lap 16. The first of four caution came on lap 6, and on the restart, Rudd jumped to the inside before the green flew, resulting in him being sent to the rear. Rudd came back through the field and was running fourth when the final yellow flew on lap 14. Pearson continued to lead a couple of laps after the restart, but Dylan Wolfe worked his way past on lap 17. Rudd followed Wolfe past Pearson, and passed Wolfe on the next lap to take the lead. Rudd led the final three laps to take the win. Wolfe followed in second with Jason Fowler third. Pearson was fourth with Adam Sowell fifth.

Action continues on August 20 with feature races for the Modified, Street Stock, Roadrunner, Coyote, CupLite, and Mini Sportsman classes. For more information, contact the track at (334) 565-3539(334) 565-3539, or visit the track’s web site at www.southalabamaspeedway.com.



1.      David Capps

2.      Heath Mills

3.      Jeremy Mack

4.      Rick McCarson

5.      Ronald Roetig

6.      Garrett Richardson

7.      Lester Ingram

DNS Lance Blacker

Super Stock

1.      Cameron Henderson

2.      Corbitt Moseley

3.      Jeremy Burchfield

4.      Ricky Harrelson

5.      Tim Peters

6.      Jody Davis

DQ Bryan Moseley (1), Darrell Cawley, Jr. (3)

Street Stock

1.      Gary Davis

2.      Jake Daniels

3.      Billy Maxie

4.      Dwayne Maloy

5.      Dean Shaw

6.      Eli Bell

7.      Steven Cawley

8.      Todd Valdez

DNS Daniel Davis


1.      Charles Gardner

2.      Jason Kendrick

3.      John Singletary

4.      Tim Peters

5.      Danny Monaghan

6.      Mike Wolfe

7.      Ricky Strickland

8.      Zack Alford

9.      Adam Butts

10.   Jason Monaghan

11.   Zack Butts

12.   Wade Burgans

13.   Michael Hurst

14.   David Davis

15.   Michael Wolfe, Jr.

16.   Bobby Rhodes


1.      Joseph Chandler

2.      Tim Richardson

3.      Hunter Worley

4.      Jonathan Johnson

5.      Anthony Johnson

6.      Michael Smith

7.      Ronald Roeting

8.      Billy Hayes

9.      James Harris

10.   Wesley Goleman

11.   Billy Killingsworth

12.   Bobby Rhodes

13.   Mason Powell


1.      Jack Whittle

2.      Adam Salter

3.      Charlie Hercus

4.      Cory Tillman

5.      Keith mack

6.      Kenny Parker

7.      Dylan Northey

8.      Keith Hutchinson

9.      Jason Cain

10.   Karl Williams

11.   Carroll Williams

12.   Daniel Parker

13.   Justine Perrine

Mini Sportsman

1.      Darryl Rudd

2.      Dylan Wolfe

3.      Jason Fowler

4.      Kim Pearson

5.      Adam Sowell

6.      Justin Beck

7.      Kylie Tharpe

8.      Aaron Wolfe

9.      Gage Williams

10.   David Bobo

11.   Benjamin Henderson

12.   Terry Brown

13.   Daniel Parker

14.   Jared Watson

15.   Jack Lisenby

16.   Cameron Rous

DNS Johnny Childree

Permanent link to this article: http://www.southalabamaspeedway.com/capps-returns-to-sas-victory-lane/